Legislative Assembly of the NWT


Created in 2014 by the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories, this scholarship was established to assist individuals pursuing studies in political science or a related field.


Applicants for the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly Scholarship must:

  1. Have resided in the Northwest Territories (NWT) for at least ten years;
  2. Be entering their first or subsequent years of studies in a recognized post-secondary program in political science or a related field.


Factors taken into consideration in reviewing grant applications from individuals include:

  1. Academic achievement;
  2. Community involvement, volunteering and other activities; and
  3. A written statement.


The deadline for applications is May 15 of each year. Applications must include a written essay (maximum 500 words) on:

  1. The benefit they will obtain from the scholarship,
  2. Community involvement, volunteering and other activities,

The recipient must provide proof of acceptance or conditional acceptance or proof of enrolment for that year in a recognized post secondary institution. A Proof of Residency (PDF 65kb) form must be submitted along with the application.

Past recipients

2017Kathleen Glowach
2017Karalyn Menicoche
2016Kathleen Glowach
2016Lyndon Stanzell
2015Karalyn Menicoche, Kathleen O’Brien
2014Tunchai Redvers, Trisa Ngo

Applications are closed

Applications are closed for 2019. Please subscribe to our newsletter to find out when they open in 2020!

Your Information will never be shared with any third party.