Northern Aviation Scholarship

Scholarship value:

Number of scholarships available in 2020:

In memory of pilots John Bidwell, Jim Smith and Matthew Bromley. 

The Northern Aviation Scholarship Fund was established to support individuals pursuing a post-secondary education in the aviation industry, for example, as a pilot, engineer or flight attendant.


To be eligible, individual applicants must have resided in the Northwest Territories (NWT) or Nunavut for at least two years and be pursuing post-secondary education in an aviation related field.


The criteria to be used in assessing applications for an award shall include:

  1. The applicant’s motivation in pursuing an aviation career;
  2. The applicant’s initiative in preparing themselves for such a career through aviation related activities.
  3. The contribution the scholarship will make to the applicant in achieving their career goals.

The scholarship may be awarded more than once to the same applicant.


Applications must be received by May 15 each year. Awards will be announced in August each year. The application must include a statement of a maximum of 500 words on:

  1. Why they wish to pursue a career in aviation in the NWT or Nunavut;
  2. What aviation related activities they have been involved with e.g. after school or part-time work, involvement in the cadet program;
  3. How the scholarship will contribute to them achieving their career goals in aviation in the NWT or Nunavut.

It must also include two letters of reference from an organization recognized for its work in aviation or another source acceptable to the Yellowknife Community Foundation and proof of acceptance or conditional acceptance at a recognized post-secondary institution in an aviation-related course of studies.

Proof of Residency (PDF 65kb) form must be submitted along with the application.

Past recipients

  • 2019 Robyn Quitte
  • 2018 Abigail Guthrie
  • 2017 Kandace Sittichinli
  • 2016 Benton Davie
  • 2015 No award
  • 2014 Kylar Villebrun
  • 2013 Kylar Villebrun
  • 2012 Kylar Villebrun
  • 2011 No award
  • 2010 No award
  • 2009 Steven Lipson
  • 2008 Jared Marshall
  • 2007 Pierre Corriveau
  • 2006 Kyle Wheaton
  • 2005 Derrick Kocik
  • 2004 Derrick Kocik

Applications are closed

Applications are closed for 2020. Please subscribe to our newsletter to find out when they open in 2021!

Your Information will never be shared with any third party.