+1 867 446 4527 5007 - 50 Avenue (W.H. Bromley Building)
P.O. Box 1620
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2P2
CRA # 88910 1978 RR 0001

Fine & Performing Arts Scholarship

The Fine and Performing Arts Fund was established to support Northwest Territories' residents interested in pursuing education or training opportunities in the fine or performing arts.


To be eligible, applicants must be pursuing artistic excellence in one or more of the following areas: drama, dance, music, and theatre arts including technical production, studio arts, film or photography. They also must have resided in the NWT for a minimum of one year prior to the award of the scholarship and have been accepted at a recognized program or course in the fine or performing arts, consisting of a minimum of 100 hours duration.


Factors taken into consideration in reviewing grant applications include demonstrated merit and dedication. A preference will be given to developing artists and applicants who have demonstrated a willingness to share their talent with the community.


Applications must be received by May 15 each year.

The application must include a written statement including information on the above noted criteria and contact information. It must also include a letter of reference from a recognized NWT Fine or Performing Arts organization or another source acceptable to the Yellowknife Community Foundation.

Note: Applicants wishing to provide a YouTube or similar link to their work are asked to do so in the body of their written essay.

Donate Now

Applications open 1 March 2019.

Past recipients

2017 Courtney Chetwynd
2017 Alisha Breton
2016 Chloé Duval
2016 Katy Harmer
2016 Dylan Maguire
2015 Lucas Othmer, Cassi Atamanenko
2014 Jessica Lynn Phillips
2013 Casey Anderson and Carmen Braden
2012 AJ Collins
2011 Amelie Duval, Antoine Mountain and Dana Sipos Randor
2010 Joe Jaw Ashoona, Ian MacDougall, Hailey McLeod and Roya Yazdanmehr
2009 Roya Yazdanmehr and Joanna Matthews
2008 Antoine Mountain
2007 Leanne Goose
2006 Tiffany Ayalik
2005 No award
2004 Kirsten Carthew
2003 Renee Pitre
2002 Sarah Kallos, Amanda Dei and April Parchoma
2001 Sacha Engelhardt
2000 Doug Richard and Rene Bonnett