+1 867 446 4527 5007 - 50 Avenue (W.H. Bromley Building)
P.O. Box 1620
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2P2
CRA # 88910 1978 RR 0001

Legislative Assembly of the NWT Fund

Created in 2014 by the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories, this scholarship was established to assist individuals pursuing studies in political science or a related field.


Applicants for the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly Scholarship must:

  1. Have resided in the NWT for at least ten years;
  2. Be entering their first or subsequent years of studies in a recognized post-secondary program in political science or a related field.


Factors taken into consideration in reviewing grant applications from individuals include:

  1. Academic achievement;
  2. Community involvement, volunteering and other activities; and
  3. A written statement.


The deadline for applications is May 15 of each year. Applications must include a written essay (maximum 200 words) on:

  1. The benefit they will obtain from the scholarship,
  2. Community involvement, volunteering and other activities,

The recipient must provide proof of acceptance or conditional acceptance or proof of enrolment for that year in a recognized post secondary institution. The residency requirement may be confirmed by government issued identification, through a letter of reference from a Mayor, Chief or other official acceptable to the Yellowknife Community Foundation.

Donate Now

Applications open 1 March 2019.

Past recipients

2017 Kathleen Glowach
2017 Karalyn Menicoche
2016 Kathleen Glowach
2016 Lyndon Stanzell
2015 Karalyn Menicoche, Kathleen O'Brien
2014 Tunchai Redvers, Trisa Ngo