Our Board
About the Yellowknife Community Foundation

The Yellowknife Community Foundation was formed in 1993 to provide interested individuals and organizations with a means of supporting projects in our community for the enduring future. It embodies a simple concept – that people working together can make a difference.

Our mission is to enhance the quality of life of the citizens of Yellowknife, and the surrounding area by: identifying and addressing current and anticipated community needs; and, raising, managing, and distributing money from donated funds to meet those needs.

Our goal is to make sure donations have a lasting impact. Using our Investment Policy we steward funds under our administration, hoping they will grow and continue to have an impact long after the original gift is made.

The Foundation is not dedicated to any specific area of support. In carrying out our mission to identify and address community needs, grants are made to local registered charities in support of projects which: advance the welfare of the needy and alleviate human suffering and poverty: assist and promote arts and cultural activities, sport, recreation and community development; advance education; assist and advance the provision of medical services; and assist and advance other community activities or facilities of a charitable nature.

The Foundation is administered by a Board of Directors of respected community leaders who are appointed by a committee of community representatives. This leads to nominations from a cross-section of community interests so the appointed Board members will always have the needs of the community at heart. The Board of Directors publishes an annual report to provide the community at large with an update on its activities. The Foundation is a member of Community Foundations of Canada.

There are many ways of giving to the Yellowknife Community Foundation. You can give through: an outright gift of money, a pledge of financial support over a period of years, a dedicated life insurance policy, a bequest in your Will, the transfer of an existing fund, or the offering of real estate or other property for conversion into the investment fund.

Donations to the Foundation are eligible deductions for Income Tax purposes. You can contribute to the Yellowknife Community Fund, which the Board uses to target areas of significant need in the community, or you can arrange to set up your donation as a separate fund in your name or in the name of someone you wish to be remembered. You may also designate the grants from your gift to a particular field of interest within the Foundation’s mission.

Your gift will enable the Yellowknife Community Foundation to grant monies in support of many worthwhile local causes. We invite you to share in this effort to make a lasting donation to the well-being of our community. For more information, please phone or write to us. We can advise you on how to make your gift work best for you and for the community.

Our Board

Robin Greig


Coming soon.


Elaine Keenan Bengts


Coming soon.


Sophie Kirby


Sophie moved to the Northwest Territories in 2016, first living in Fort Liard and then eventually moving to Yellowknife in 2018. Sophie is a graduate from the University of Guelph, soon starting her Masters at the University of Saskatchewan studying Governance and Entrepreneurship in Northern and Indigenous Areas. She currently works as the Youth Resiliency Program Officer for the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award. Sophie loves to be outside, spending time with family and friends and discovering different parts of Canada’s North!


Laurie Gault

Vice President

Coming soon.


Jason Snagg


Jason moves to Yellowknife in 2014. An Industrial Engineer by profession with over 25 years, Jason has worked in Asia, Europe, New Zealand and North America, in mining, manufacturing and engineering consulting. Jason is currently the CEO at the Yellowknives Dene First Nation. He enjoys travelling with his family and volunteering.


Bronwyn Watters

Past President

Born and educated in Australia where she worked as a child clinical psychologist, Bronwyn came to Canada in 1968.  With her husband, Andy Langford, she has made Yellowknife her home since 1978.

First hired to come north as Supervisor of Special Education with the Department of Education, she subsequently held a variety of positions with Health and Social Services, Education, Culture and Employment and Justice, most recently as Deputy Minister of Justice.  On her retirement Bronwyn was appointed as a Commissioner with the Human Rights Commission, and spends much of her other time on projects related to anti-poverty, early childhood development and safe schools.


Erine Devine


Coming soon.


Ian Legaree


Ian Legaree and his wife Shawna Lampi-Legaree moved to the Northwest Territories in 1984.  He is one of the originating members of the Yellowknife Community Foundation.  Other volunteer contributions include coaching swimming for nearly 15 years, the Arctic Winter Games and various mentorship projects. He was awarded the Paul Harris Fellowship by the Rotary Club of Yellowknife in 2007. Ian is a graduate of the University of Waterloo and Confederation College and is the Director of Sport, Recreation and Youth for the Government of the Northwest Territories.




Rosella Stoesz

Executive Director

Rosella has called Yellowknife home since 1980. Over the years, she has worked for communications and graphics firms, and for a variety of non profit organizations. She has also volunteered for organizations including Folk on the Rocks, the Yellowknife Garden Collective, Meals on Wheels. When not working, Rosella enjoys walking local trails with her dog. Rosella came to the Yellowknife Community Foundation in 2010 as a part-time Executive Director, and is committed to helping the organization grow and continue to make a positive impact on the lives of Yellowknifers.


Hilary Jones


Coming soon.


Shawn McCann


Coming soon.