+1 867 446 4527 5007 - 50 Avenue (W.H. Bromley Building)
P.O. Box 1620
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2P2
CRA # 88910 1978 RR 0001

Con Employees’ Benevolent Fund

Established in 2011 by the Con Employees’ Benevolent Society, this Fund was established to assist individuals pursuing a trade or professional career in the mining industry or an industry related to mining.


Applications for the Con Employees' Benevolent Fund Scholarship are open to high school graduates resident in the City of Yellowknife, NWT that demonstrate an intent to pursue a trade or professional career in the mining industry or an industry related to mining, for example, millwright, geo-technical engineer, environmental studies, geology or heavy equipment operator.


Factors taken into consideration in reviewing grant applications from individuals include:

  1. Why they are applying for the scholarship;
  2. The individual’s involvement or interest in a trade or professional career in the mining industry; and
  3. How the scholarship will assist, or further the individual’s career or academic goals.

A letter of reference attesting to the applicant’s interest or involvement in the above-listed activities must be submitted with the application.

The scholarship may be awarded more than once to the same applicant, but not more than twice to the same applicant within any consecutive five year period.


The deadline for applications is May 15 of each year. Applications must include a written essay of at least 500 words on why they are applying for the scholarship. Prior to receiving the scholarship, the recipient must provide proof of registration at an accredited trade school, college or university or with the NWT Apprenticeship Board. The residency requirement may be confirmed through a letter of reference from a Mayor, Chief or other official acceptable to the Yellowknife Community Foundation.

Donate Now

Applications open 1 March 2019.

Past recipients

2017 Monique Chapman
2016 Johanna Stewart
2015 Martha Hamre
2014 Martha Hamre
2013 Matthew Ouillette
2012 Ashley Mulders