+1 867 446 4527 5007 - 50 Avenue (W.H. Bromley Building)
P.O. Box 1620
Yellowknife, NT
X1A 2P2
CRA # 88910 1978 RR 0001

Helping Children Soar Scholarship


Established by the Foster Family Coalition of the NWT with help from BHP and other generous donors. The Helping Children Soar Scholarship was established to assist residents of the Northwest Territories who have grown up in foster care to further their education.


Applicants must be residents of the Northwest Territories who have grown up in foster care.


Factors taken into consideration in reviewing applications include the qualities the individual brings to their chosen field and how these will benefit their goals and the lives of others.


The deadline for applications is May 15 of each year. The application must include a written essay of at least 500 words on:

  1. Academic and career goals,
  2. Their role in their choosen field,
  3. The qualities they bring to the field,
  4. How the scholarship will help them achieve their goals.

Applications must also include:

  1. Proof of Residency* and,
  2. A letter of acceptance from a program recognized by the Foster Family Coalition of the NWT.

*The residency requirement may be confirmed through a letter of reference from the Mayor or Chief, any member of City or Band Council or other official acceptable to the Yellowknife Community Foundation.

About the Foster Families Coalition of the Northwest Territories: The Foster Family Coalition of the NWT is a unified voice, dedicated to improving the quality of life for children and youth in foster care by supporting foster families’ well-being. It is a non-profit founded in 2001.

Logo by Dawn Oman is symbolic of the team of individuals who work together to help children in need. These people include foster parents, social workers, teachers, doctors, mentors and anyone else who help children soar above their challenges and become all that they can be.

Donate Now

Applications open 1 March 2019.

Past recipients

2017 Lorna Brinston
2016 Alina Lizotte
2015 no award
2014 Robin Abel
2013 Elisa Hazenberg