Yellowknife Community Foundation Congratulate 2014 Diavik Scholarship Recipients

Diavik Diamond Mines (2012) and the Yellowknife Community Foundation are pleased to announce the 2014 Diavik Community Scholarship Fund recipients. The recipients and their areas of study are (NNSL Article – “Four students receive scholarships” by Simon Whitehouse, PDF 176 kb):

  • Monique Chapman: Bachelor of Science in Marine Biology, Dalhousie University
  • Sydney Friesen: Bachelor of Engineering, University of Victoria
  • Martha Hamre: Bachelor of Engineering, University of Guelph
  • Bryana Matthews: Bachelor of Science in Biology and diploma in Environmental Restoration at University of Victoria

“Congratulations to this year’s recipients. Their commitment to academic achievement and volunteer efforts in the community distinguished them in the application process. Through our partnership with the Foundation, we are extremely pleased to be able to assist these young women as they pursue their educational goals,” said Diavik President Marc Cameron.

“By adding to their scholarship fund this past year Diavik has improved the sustainability of the fund, meaning a longer-term legacy. This will allow the Foundation to award more scholarships to deserving young northerners. Congratulations to this year’s four deserving scholarship winners”, said Yellowknife Community Foundation President Charles Dent. “These four young women were selected because they all articulated a passion for their studies, were strong academic achievers, and told us about their desire to work in the mining industry after they complete university,” he added.

The Diavik Communities Scholarship Fund, administered by the Yellowknife Community Foundation, was announced in 2013 with initial funding of $25,000. Earlier this year, at the foundation’s annual gala event, Diavik donated an additional $35,000 to the scholarship fund.

In existence since 1993, the Yellowknife Community Foundation is the leading philanthropic organization in Yellowknife. A registered charity, the Foundation was formed in 1993 to provide residents (and former residents) with a means of supporting projects in our community for the enduring future. The Foundation is not singularly dedicated to any specific area of support. It embodies a simple concept – that people working together can make a difference. Donations are placed in a capital fund. The money, invested over time, will grow and will continue to have an impact long after the original gift is made. Donations to the Foundation are eligible deductions for income tax purposes.

For more information contact Yellowknife Community Foundation President Charles Dent at (867) 445-3368, or visit www.yellowknifecommunityfoundation.ca.

The Diavik Diamond Mine, located 300 km. northeast of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, is a Diavik Diamond Mines (2012) Inc. (60%) and Dominion Diamond Diavik Limited Partnership (40%) unincorporated joint venture. DDMI is a wholly owned subsidiary of Rio Tinto plc of London, England, and Dominion Diamond Diavik Limited Partnership is wholly owned by Dominion Diamond Corporation.

For more information contact Doug Ashbury, Adviser Communications at (867) 669-6500, or visit www.diavik.ca

Share this post
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Discover more

We're hiring!

We're hiring!

The Yellowknife Community Foundation is a charitable organization whose stated Mission is to enhance the quality of life in our…
Cash & Prize Raffle

Cash & Prize Raffle

Win your share of $61,500 in cash and prizes and support the Yellowknife Community Foundation!
2021 Call for Scholarship Applications

2021 Call for Scholarship Applications

The Yellowknife Community Foundation is pleased to announce that the 2021 Scholarship application season is here!