David Sutherland Memorial Fund

About the David Sutherland Memorial Fund

Established in 2005, the purpose of the David Sutherland Memorial Fund is to support residents of the Northwest Territories pursuing post-secondary studies who are members of a cross country ski organization and a high-performance cross country ski athlete.

Application process

Individuals interested in applying must create a profile on our scholarship application portal. Once your profile is created, you will need to complete our eligibility quiz and then submit a scholarship application to the David Sutherland Memorial Fund.

Applications will be made available during our scholarship intake season, in April/May 2024.

2024 key dates

2 April, 12.01am

Scholarship application portal opens. 

31 May, 11.59pm

Scholarship application portal closes. Late applications not accepted.

Mid- to late July

Funding distributed to scholarship recipients. 

Please find the application process below, including some frequently asked questions. 

The David Sutherland Memorial Fund was established in 2005 to support the activities and development of young cross country skiers in the NWT.


Please note that award amounts vary year by year.

In order to be eligible to apply for the David Sutherland Memorial Fund, you must be:

  • A resident of the Northwest Territories for at least two years.
  • A member of an NWT cross country ski organization recognized by Sport North Federation.
  • A high-performance cross country ski athlete

All of our scholarship application forms and additional materials need to be submitted on our scholarship application portal

  • You will complete a questionnaire describing what cross country skiing activities you have been involved in, how you demonstrate the qualities of sportsmanship, enthusiasm, friendliness, spirit, determination, and perseverance, how the grant will contribute to you achieving your goals.
  • You will provide the email address of a reference to support your application.  Your reference can be a teacher, coach, instructor, etc. We will email your reference a recommendation form to fill out.

You must be an eligible resident to apply for a scholarship.
As such, YKCF requires you to make a residency declaration and have a witness sign off.
However, you do not need to print out any forms!
Each residency declaration is a one-click question embedded within the application process.
You just need to provide the email address of your residency witness, and they will be emailed directly.

You can only apply through our online application portal. In 2024, the application portal opens on April 2nd.

Access it here: https://www.grantinterface.ca/Home/Logon?urlkey=yellowknifescholarship

Mailed and emailed applications will not be accepted barring extreme circumstances.

If you have more questions, check back to our FAQs on our scholarship page!

  • 2023 Sophie Mahon
  • 2022 No award 
  • 2021 No award
  • 2020 Ella Kokelj and Jack Panayi
  • 2019 Nicolas Bennett
  • 2018 Ella Kokelj
  • 2017 Ella Kokelj
  • 2016 Donny Boake
  • 2015 YK Ski Club
  • 2014 No award
  • 2013 Kevin Durkee
  • 2012 Thomsen D’Hont
  • 2011 Yellowknife Ski Club (Athlete Support Program)
  • 2010 Thomsen D’Hont
  • 2009 Thomsen D’Hont
  • 2008 Thomsen D’Hont
  • 2007 No award
  • 2006 Mike Argue

For more information

If you require assistance or have questions about the David Sutherland Memorial Fund, please do hesitate to contact the Yellowknife Community Foundation office at grants@ykcf.ca or by phone at +1-867 446 4527.